2018 Fred Harris Education Awards

The 2018 Fred Harris Awards have been presented to ten students, one from each of the ten schools in the Redruth area.

Redruth Charity Trust awards a £50 voucher to one Year 6 pupil in each of the town’s ten schools that has made a difference to their school and community, in honour of Mr F.L.Harris (Trustee 1947-1990) who spent his lifetime working in education.  The schools nominate their winning students.

The 2018 winners are:

Pencoys Primary School – Emily Ducker

Pennoweth School – Emily Benney

Treleigh CP School – Sienna Isaacs

Portreath School – Freya Johnson

Lanner School – Lucie Buist

Trewirgie Junior School – Tia Rogers

Curnow Lower School – Sarah Constable

Treloweth Primary School – Riley Day

Illogan School – Erin Williams

St Day and Carharrack School – Anna Young

Emily Benney (Pennoweth)
Emily Ducker (Pencoys)
Freya Johnson (Portreath)
Lucie Buist (Lanner)
Sienna Issacs (Treleigh)
Tia Rogers (Trewirgie)


The Head Teachers of all ten schools were also presented with a £250 donation from the Trust towards the schools’ library provisions.

That’s another £2500 invested in Redruth’s young people!

Lanner Head Teacher Tamsin Pulley
Pencoys Head Teacher Lanner Head Teacher Alex Craig
Trewirgie Head Teacher Jane Sargent